26th May 18:30 Vitality Blast The Seat Unique Stadium, Bristol
Glamorgan win by 2 wickets
Glamorgan kick off B;ast campaign with trip to Bristol

Head Coach Mark Alleyne has named a 14-man squad to take on Gloucestershire in Glamorgan's Vitality Blast opener tomorrow night.

Seamer Ruaidhri Smith has re-signed on a short-term deal with the Welsh county after impressing in the 2nd XI T20s.

Kiran Carlson will captain the side with David Lloyd still missing with a hamstring injury. While Colin Ingram returns to the Glamorgan squad after Marnus Labuschagne departed for international duty with Australia.

Young all-rounder Ben Kellaway has also been named in the squad and could make his Glamorgan debut.

Glamorgan will start their Vitality Blast campaign in Bristol tomorrow night while Gloucestershire were defeated by seven wickets by Kent Spitfires in their opening fixture this week.

Head-to-Head - Gloucestershire vs Glamorgan

12 June 2015 at Bristol - Glamorgan won by 19 runs
10 June 2016 at Bristol - Glamorgan won by 6 wickets
25 July 2017 at Bristol - Glamorgan won by 25 runs
29 Aug 2020 at Bristol - Glamorgan won by 15 runs
24 June 2021 at Bristol - Gloucestershire won by 34 runs
18 June 2022 at Bristol - No Result

In 2021 Glenn Phillips’ destructive batting for Gloucestershire saw the West Country side to victory at Bristol and ended a sequence of four successive victories by the Welsh county. Glamorgan’s 15-run victory in 2020 was set-up by some frugal spin bowling by Prem Sisodiya and Andrew Salter, with the latter taking 4/20 after Chris Cooke had posted an unbeaten 51.

The victory by 25 runs at Bristol in 2017 followed a pair of assertive fifties by Jacques Rudolph and David Miller, with the pair of South Africans unleashing some muscular blows before Glamorgan’s attack restricted the home batters.
The six-victory win at Bristol in 2016 was also underpinned by a fine bowling performance which had restricted Gloucestershire to 168-6, before Colin Ingram posted a quickfire fifty to guide Glamorgan to victory.

The game at Bristol in 2015 was a high-scoring affair with the two captains, Jacques Rudolph and Michael Klinger, each posting unbeaten hundreds. But it was the efforts of the Glamorgan leader, with his maiden T20 century, which held sway as the Welsh county won by 19 runs.


How to watch

Thanks to our friends at Gloucestershire, a live stream will be in operation, and you can watch on the Glamorgan website via the match centre with commentary from BBC's Nick Webb and colleagues.

The match will also be covered on our social media channels, with updates, highlights, and reports throughout the game.