2022 Glamorgan fixtures announced

20 Jan 2022 | Cricket

The 2022 domestic fixtures have been announced with Glamorgan to open their LV= County Championship campaign against Durham at Sophia Gardens on Thursday, 7th April.

After six matches in the LV= County Championship across April and May, the Welsh county enter Vitality Blast action, with this year marking the 20th edition of the T20 competition.

The Vitality Blast will run over a seven-week period (May 25 – July 16) with Glamorgan kicking-off their T20 campaign away at Sussex Sharks on Thursday, 26th May.

Glamorgan will play seven home matches across the group stages of the competition with our opening home game against Essex Eagles on Thursday, 2nd June, while our final home match is a blockbuster affair under the Friday night lights at Sophia Gardens against local rivals Somerset on 24th June, in 'The Big Match.'

Following a warm-up match against Wales National County (31st July) we will begin our Royal London Cup title defence with an away trip to Derbyshire Falcons on Tuesday, 2nd August.

The opening home match in the 50-over competition is against Kent on Thursday, 4th August with the venue to be confirmed, while we will return to The Gnoll in Neath for the first time since 1995 with back-to-back matches against Lancashire (17th August) and Hampshire (19th August).

In September, we play our final LV= County Championship matches of the season, with home games at Sophia Gardens against Worcestershire (8th September) and Derbyshire (20th September) before the season comes to a close away at Sussex.

Members and supporters can immediately download all Glamorgan fixtures to the calendar on their mobile phone and digital devices with a couple of clicks.

Head of operations, Dan Cherry, said: “It’s always an exciting time of year when the fixtures are released, and it’s once again looking like another action-packed summer of cricket for our members and supporters to enjoy.

“It’s particularly pleasing to enter the campaign as Royal London Cup defending champions and we hope to continue that success across all formats this season. 

“Regrettably, we are unable to play at St. Helen’s this year, with the facilities no longer able to support the hosting of domestic cricket at the venue. However, we are pleased we are able to continue to host cricket in West Wales with a return to The Gnoll in Neath for the first time in 27 years.

“We remain in negotiations with our other out-grounds to determine the feasibility of hosting matches at their venues given the impact the Covid-19 pandemic has had on volunteer resources and local infrastructure.

“We will be confirming all venues for our home matches as soon as these discussions are concluded.”

Our 2022 Glamorgan Memberships and Blast Pass are available to buy now! Watch new captain David Lloyd, and overseas superstars Marnus Labuschagne and Michael Neser in action this season. 

Click HERE to secure your membership.


The LV= Insurance County Championship returns to a two-division structure – for the first time since 2019 – with Glamorgan in Division Two.

The opening seven rounds of the LV= County Championship will be played from Thursday to Sunday on successive weeks. There will be five rounds played during June and July – an increase from the three rounds during the same period last summer.

The Division One and Division Two titles are set to be decided in September, with the final round of fixtures to be staged from September 26-29.


The 20th edition of domestic T20 cricket will begin on May 25.

The Vitality Blast group stage will take place over a 40-day period with 99 of the 126 matches to be played on a Thursday, Friday and at the weekend.

The quarter-finals will be staged from July 6-9 before the sold-out Finals Day will be staged at Edgbaston a week later.


The Royal London Cup final will return to a Saturday with Trent Bridge to host the decider on September 17. The 18 First-Class Counties will each play one warm-up match against a National County – with Glamorgan facing Wales National County on Sunday, 31st July (venue TBC).

Defending champions Glamorgan are away to Derbyshire on the opening day and the group stage will conclude on August 23.

The competition will visit at least nine out-grounds, from Scarborough to Neath, before the knockout stages will be held on August 26 and August 30.