Glamorgan v Surrey RLODC at Cardiff: Head-to-Head

1 Aug 2021 | Cricket

Glamorgan meet Surrey in the Royal London One-Day Cup at Sophia Gardens on Tuesday, 3 August with the contest scheduled to get underway at 1100. (writes Andrew Hignell)

The list below shows the results of the last six meetings between the two teams in List A cricket at Glamorgan’s headquarters, with the 64-run victory by the Welsh county on their most recent meeting during April 2019 having been underpinned by some excellent cricket during the closing ten overs of the Glamorgan innings and the first ten of Surrey’s reply. Billy Root and Marchant de Lange bludgeoned 113 from the last 63 balls of the Welsh county’s innings, as the former ended unbeaten on 113 before the latter reduced Surrey to 28-4 in the fifth over with a feisty new ball spell of 3/14 from 18 deliveries.

27 June, 2004 - Glamorgan won by 9 wickets
24 July, 2008 - Glamorgan won by 78 runs
21 May, 2010 – Surrey won by 2 wickets
2 June, 2012 – Surrey won by 57 runs
30 April 2017 – Surrey won by 8 wickets
28 April 2019 – Glamorgan won by 64 runs

Surrey had been victorious on their three previous visits to Cardiff for a List A match against the Welsh county. In 2017 they eased to an eight wicket victory after Jacques Rudolph and Colin Ingram had each made half-centuries in the Welsh county’s total of 239. Rain then fell leaving Surrey a revised target of 182 from 29 overs but Mark Stoneman’s 74 and Kumar Sangakkara’s unbeaten 81, during a masterclass of batting from the veteran Sri Lankan, saw the visitors ease home with five overs to spare.

On their visit to Cardiff during June 2012, Surrey had won a rain-affected contest by 57 runs under the DLS Method, after Indian spinner Murali Kartik had claimed 4/27, but in 2010 the margin of victory was much closer as Surrey won by two wickets. Mark Cosgrove and Tom Maynard had each posted half-centuries for Glamorgan, and after the home spinners had imposed a stranglehold on the visitor’s progress, their efforts looked like laying the platform for a Welsh victory. But Surrey had a change of fortunes as Chris Schofield, the former England leg-spinner, struck fifty from 47 balls, and shared a quickfire stand for the seventh wicket with Gareth Batty, despite the latter pulling a hamstring when scampering a quick single early in his innings. Batty proceeded to unleash some telling blows whilst virtually standing on one leg, before Schofield saw the visitor home with eight balls to spare.

Glamorgan had been the victors in 2008 under the newly installed floodlights as Mark Wallace scored a jaunty 85 to wrest the initiative away from the visitors. Jason Gillespie then dismissed both openers, before David Harrison claimed the important scalp of Mark Ramprakash. Spinners Robert Croft and Dean Cosker subsequently stifled the attempts of the visiting batsmen to re-ignite the run-chase as Glamorgan cruised to a comfortable victory by 78 runs.