Kent Spitfires v Glamorgan: T20 Head-to-Head at Canterbury

2 Jul 2022 | Cricket

Glamorgan complete their campaign in T20 cricket during 2022 by meeting the Kent Spitfires at Canterbury with the contest in the Vitality Blast scheduled to start at 1830. (writes Andrew Hignell)

As the list below shows, the two teams have met four times at Canterbury, with their most recent meeting in August 2019 being called off because of rain.

11 July 2010 - Kent won by 6 wickets
3 July 2011 - Kent won by 5 wickets
30 July 2017 - Glamorgan won by 25 runs
14 Aug 2019 - Match Abandoned

The Welsh county were the victors when the two teams met Canterbury during 2017 when half-centuries from Jacques Rudolph and Aneurin Donald plus some disciplined seam bowling during the second half of the Kent innings laid the foundations for the 25-run victory. Rudolph’s measured 77 underpinned the visitors’ innings and, for the opening ten overs, the captain dropped anchor, and was content to calmly push the ball around as Donald provided the early fireworks with a brace of lusty drives over the in-field as he raced to fifty from 30 balls.

In 2011 a late rally by the Spitfires saw Glamorgan lose a game which seemed to be in their grasp with the home side still needing 35 from the last three overs. But this Canterbury tale was not a happy one for the Welsh county as Geraint Jones and Sam Northeast plundered nineteen runs from the 18th over, delivered by Jim Allenby, to put their side in the ascendancy, with the two batsmen duly seeing the Spitfires home with four balls to spare to complete an unbroken stand of 57. The previous year, Kent had won a low-scoring contest with Azhar Mahmood promoted up the order to play a match-winning innings and leaving the visitors to rue several dropped chances.

The game at Canterbury could also be Michael Hogan's last ever T20 game before retirement at the end of the season. The evergreen Australian is currently fifth in the list of T20 wicket-takers in 2022 having taken at least one wicket in every game so far this summer. His tally of 20 wickets is one short of his best-ever haul of 21 taken during 2014 and two short of the Club record set by Robert Croft during 2010.